Intermountain’s Delta, Sevier Valley, and Fillmore Hospitals Receive Trauma Designations

Industry: Healthcare

Delta Community and Sevier Valley Hospitals have both earned Level IV trauma center designations, while Fillmore Community Hospital recertified as a Level IV center.

Salt Lake City, UT (PRUnderground) December 5th, 2022

Intermountain Healthcare’s Delta Community Hospital and Sevier Valley Hospital have both earned Level IV trauma center designations from the Utah Bureau of Emergency Medical Services. In addition, Intermountain Fillmore Hospital has received a Level IV recertification.

The Level IV designation certifies the hospitals can provide advanced trauma life support to patients while evaluating and stabilizing them before a transfer to a higher-level trauma center, when needed.

A Level IV trauma center must meet strict criteria and be equipped to always be ready to provide advanced trauma life support by having necessary staff available. The certification ensures residents in Central and Southern Utah have access to key medical resources and trauma care closer to home.

“This trauma designation is huge for our community,” said Josh Keel, Sevier Valley Hospital trauma coordinator. “We’re a popular recreation area and see many patients with different kinds of trauma injuries. This gives us the equipment and protocols needed to provide the best care possible for our severely injured trauma patients, leading to better outcomes.”

Intermountain Fillmore Hospital has been a Trauma IV-certified trauma hospital since 2012, after being the first rural critical access hospital in Utah to achieve the designation.

“This process requires review of every patient seen in our emergency department for trauma with an emphasis on continuous improvement of trauma care,” said Wayne Brown, MD, an emergency medicine physician at Intermountain Fillmore Community Hospital. “This is an extensive undertaking every three years, and we feel it has and will continue to enhance the care we provide to our friends and neighbors in East Millard County.”

For patients needing specialized advanced trauma care, Delta, Fillmore, and Severe Valley caregivers will rapidly assess and stabilize patients, before readying them for transport to a higher-level trauma center. They will also function as the entry point to Intermountain’s system of integrated specialty care.

“It’s the seconds that count in an emergency and a Trauma IV designation demonstrates that Delta Hospital has the protocols in place to give the best care.” said Tanele Carter, trauma manager at Intermountain Delta Community Hospital.

There are five trauma level hospital designations. Higher level facilities, including Level I, II, and III Trauma Centers treat more complex patient cases. Hospitals must recertify every three years.

About Intermountain Healthcare

Headquartered in Utah with locations in eight states and additional operations across the western U.S., Intermountain Healthcare is a nonprofit system of 33 hospitals, 385 clinics, medical groups with some 3,900 employed physicians and advanced care providers, a health plans division called SelectHealth with more than one million members, and other health services. Helping people live the healthiest lives possible, Intermountain is committed to improving community health and is widely recognized as a leader in transforming healthcare by using evidence-based best practices to consistently deliver high-quality outcomes at sustainable costs. For more information and updates, click here

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Press Contact

Erin Goff
(801) 507-7455
Contact Us

Image Gallery